Guitar Tone Compendium 

Post Guitar Tone Compendium
Alright, first off if this is another thread I couldn't find it.

I don't really want to know exactly how to sound like X band or Y guitarist, but I'm a complete noob when it comes to guitar sounds from the amplifier. Is there a general description of what bass/mid/treb/overdrive etc. will do to a tone?

Right now, I've found a distortion that I kinda like but I want to make it sound... fuller? Someone said it was a dry tone, so maybe how do I make it sound thicker and more "wet"? What's going to sound better for rhythm guitar type stuff as opposed to lead?

Just guidelines that may or may not turn into discussion, but I'm just kinda looking at everything going... there's a lot of options right now... *shrug*

Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:41 am

What's your setup currently? Might help us give a better description. As far as overdriven rhythm tone goes, I like a lot of bass, somewhat scooped mids (less mids but not all the way out), and enough treble to cut through a mix but not sound annoying.

Basically, just play around with the EQ on your amp until you get a sound you like. I'm sure you've already done that though, so you might also want to buy a cheap EQ pedal, like an MXR, and use that to get a better idea. Alternatively, record a short sound clip of your guitar, and add / subtract the different bands of EQ in a free audio program like Audacity or Reaper. Or you could even use a media player's EQ, like Winamp has. I think it's pretty self explanatory what adding bass and treble does, but mids can be confusing, because that's where a guitar's frequency really lives.